About our Trouble with the Law campaign

Our campaign ‘Trouble with the Law’ calls on all Police and Crime Commissioner candidates to recognise vulnerable children and young people within their election campaigns across England and Wales.

Care experienced children and young people should not be disadvantaged by their care status. However, our research has found them to be at significant risk of criminal exploitation and vastly overrepresented within the criminal justice system.

Despite this overrepresentation, NYAS’ Trouble with the Law campaign highlights how care experienced young people are too often overlooked in police and crime plans. The work of Police and Crime Commissioners has a huge impact on the most vulnerable children, and the campaign demonstrates how critical their inclusion in these plans are.

NYAS has written to all candidates across England and Wales to recommend what action is needed by Police and Crime Commissioners to protect and support care-experienced children and young people. The Welsh translation can be found here.

Did you know?

What we want to happen

NYAS’ Trouble with the Law campaign is calling on all Police and Crime Commissioner candidates and

mayors with policing responsibility to pledge their commitment to supporting care experienced children and young people. Their work can have a huge impact on vulnerable children, so the upcoming election will be vital.

NYAS are calling on all candidates to pledge their commitment to the following pledges:

  1. To work to keep care-experienced young people out of the criminal justice system.
  2. To never make policies about them, without them.
  3. To protect victims of exploitation and missing children.
  4. To campaign to end the life-long stigma of criminal records.

Candidates who have signed our pledge

Throughout this election we will be updating here and across our social media channels which candidates have pledged their support to this campaign.

We will be updating this daily.

You can also get involved in this campaign by sharing your support with the #TroubleWithTheLaw hashtag.


Candidate Name



Sign up

Kerry Barker Avon and Somerst Labour
Cleo Lake Avon and Somerst Green
Heather Shearer Avon and Somerst Liberal Democrats
Mark Shelford Avon and Somerst Conservative
John Smith Avon and Somerst Independent
Festus Akinbusoye Bedfordshire Conservative
Patrick Hamill Bedfordshire Independent
David Michael Bedfordshire Labour
Jas Parmar Bedfordshire Liberal Democrat
Nicky Massey Cambridgeshire Labour
Rupert Moss-Eccardt Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrat
Darryl Preston Cambridgeshire Conservative
Jo Conchie Cheshire Liberal Democrats
John Dwyer Cheshire Conservative
Nicholas Goulding Cheshire Reform UK
David Keane Cheshire Labour
Chris Jones Cleveland Liberal Democrats
Steve Turner Cleveland Conservative
Barbara Cannon Cumbria Labour
Loraine Birchall Cumbria Liberal Democrats
Peter McCall Cumbria Conservative
Hardyal Dhindsa Derbyshire Labour
Angelique Foster Derbyshire Conservative
Stan Heptinstall Derbyshire Liberal Democrat
Brian Blake Devon and Cornwall Liberal Democrat
Gareth Derrick Devon and Cornwall Labour
Alison Hernandez Devon and Cornwall Conservative
Stuart Jackson Devon and Cornwall Green
Patrick Canavan Dorset Labour
Dan Hardy Dorset Independent
Mark Robson Dorset Liberal Democrat
Claire Seymour Dorset Green
David Sidwick Dorset Conservative
Joy Allen Durham Labour
George Jabbour Durham Conservative
Jon Burns Dyfed-Powys Conservative
Dafydd Llywelyn Dyfed-Powys Plaid Cymru
Phillippa Thompson Dyfed-Powys Labour
Rodger Hirst Essex Conservative
Chris Vince Essex Conservative
Chris Nelson
Gloucestershire Conservative
Simon O’Rourke Gloucestershire Labour
Martin Surl Gloucestershire Independent
Jeth Cuthbert Gwent Labour
Hannah Jarvis Gwent Conservative
Tony Bunday Hampshire Labour
Donna Jones Hampshire Conservative
Richard Murphy Hampshire Liberal Democrat
David Lloyd Hertfordshire Conservative
Sam North Hertfordshire Liberal Democrat
Philip Ross Hertfordshire Labour
Keith Hunter Humberside Labour
Bob Morgan Humberside Liberal Democrats
Craig Ulliot Humberside Conservative
Graham Colley Kent Liberal Democrat
Lola Oyewusi Kent Labour
Matthew Scott Kent Conservative
Clive Grunshaw Lancashire Labour
Andrew Snowden Lancashire Conservative
Rupert Matthews Leicestershire Conservative
Ross Willmott Leicestershire Labour
Marc Jones Lincolnshire Conservative
Roseanne Kirk Lincolnshire Labour
Kristofor Brown Merseyside Liberal Democrat
Josie Mullen Merseyside Independent
Emily Spurrell Merseyside Labour
John Crofts Norfolk Liberal Democrat
Michael Rosen Norfolk Labour
Martin Schmierer
Norfolk Green
Giles Orpen-Smellie Norfolk Conservative
Stephen Mold Northamptonshire Conservative
Clare Pavitt Northamptonshire Labour
Ana Savage Gunn
Northamptonshire Liberal Democrat  
Duncan Crute Northumbria Conservative
Georgina Hill Northumbria Independent
Kim McGuiness Northumbria Labour
Pat Astbury North Wales Conservative
Andy Dunbobbin North Wales Labour
Ann Griffith North Wales Plaid Cymru
Phillip Allott North Yorkshire Conservative
Alison Hume North Yorkshire Labour
Keith Tordoff North Yorkshire Independent
Paddy Tipping Nottinghamshire Labour
Caroline Henry Nottinghamshire Conservative
David Watts Nottinghamshire Liberal Democrat
Michael Alfred Baker South Wales Independent
Nadine Marshall South Wales Plaid Cymru
Alun Michael South Wales Labour
Carolyn Webster South Wales Conservative
Alan Billings South Yorkshire Labour
David Chinchen South Yorkshire Conservative
Joe Otten South Yorkshire Liberal Democrats
Benedict Adams Staffordshire Conservative
Tony Kearon Staffordshire Labour
Elizabeth Hughes Suffolk Labour
Tim Passmore Suffolk Conservative
James Sandbach Suffolk Liberal Democrat
Lisa Townsend Surrey Conservative
Howard Kaye Surrey Labour
Paul Kennedy Surrey Liberal Democrat
David Munro Surrey Independent
Jamie Frank Bennett
Sussex Liberal Democrat
Kahina Bouhassane Sussex Green
Katy Bourne Sussex Conservative
Matthew Barber Thames Valley Conservative
Laetisia Catherine Carter Thames Valley Labour
Louis Adam Warwickshire Liberal Democrat
Ben Twomey Warwickshire Labour
Philip Seccombe Warwickshire Conservative
John-Paul Campion West Mercia Conservative
Kuldip Sahota West Mercia Labour
Simon Foster West Midlands Labour
Julie Hambleton West Midlands Independent
Jon Hunt West Midlands Liberal Democrat
Jay Singh-Sohal West Midlands Conservative
Junab Ali Wiltshire and Swindon Labour
Mike Rees Wiltshire and Swindon Independent
Jonathon Seed Wiltshire and Swindon Conservative

Mayoral Candidate List

Andy Burnham Greater Manchester Labour
Michael Elston Greater Manchester Independent
Laura Evans Greater Manchester Conservative
Melanie Horrocks Greater Manchester Green
Simon Lepori Greater Manchester Liberal Democrats
Shaun Bailey London Conservative
Kam Balayev London Renew
Siân Berry London Green
Count Binface London Independent
Valerie Brown London The Burning Pink Party
Piers Corbyn London Independent
Drillminister London Independent
Peter Gammons London UKIP
Laurence Fox London Reclaim
Sadiq Khan London Labour
David Kurten London Heritage
Farah London London Independent
Winston McKenzie London Unity in Action
Nims Obunge
London Independent
Luisa Porritt London Liberal Democrat
Rosalind Readhead London Independent
Mandu Reid London Women’s Equality Party
Brian Rose London Independent
Tracey Brabin
West Yorkshire Labour
Bob Buxton West Yorkshire Yorkshire
Andrew Cooper West Yorkshire Green
Stewart Golton West Yorkshire Liberal Democrat
Matthew Robinson West Yorkshire Conservative